Connect with us


Full List: South Africa’s 7th Administration Cabinet Ministers and Deputies



President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced the new Cabinet ministers and their deputies following the watershed 29 May elections. Despite initial considerations to reduce the number of government portfolios, the decision was made to retain the existing structure with some notable mergers and separations of departments.

Key Changes:

  • Electricity and Energy: Now a single department, while Mineral and Petroleum Resources have separated.
  • Agriculture: No longer combined with Land Reform and Rural Development.
  • Higher Education: Separate from Science, Technology, and Innovation.
  • Public Enterprises: Responsibilities have been transferred to the Presidency.

Below is the comprehensive list of South Africa’s new Cabinet ministers and their deputies:

  1. Deputy President: Paul Mashatile
  2. Minister of Agriculture: John Steenhuisen
    • Deputy: Rosemary Nokuzola Capa
  3. Minister of Land Reform and Rural Development: Mzwanele Nyhontso
    • Deputy: Chupu Stanley Mathabatha
  4. Minister of Basic Education: Siviwe Gwarube
    • Deputy: Reginah Mhaule
  5. Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies: Solly Malatsi
    • Deputy: Mondli Gungubele
  6. Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA): Velinkosi Hlabisa
    • Deputies: Dickson Masemola and Zolile Burns‐Ncamashe
  7. Minister of Defence and Military Veterans: Angie Motshekga
    • Deputies: Bantu Holomisa and Richard Mkhungo
  8. Minister of Electricity and Energy: Kgosientsho Ramokgopa
    • Deputy: Samantha Graham-Maré
  9. Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation: Blade Nzimande
    • Deputy: Nomalungelo Gina
  10. Minister of Employment and Labour: Nomakhosazana Meth
    • Deputies: Jomo Sibiya and Phumzile Mgcina
  11. Minister of Finance: Enoch Godongwana
    • Deputies: David Masondo and Ashor Sarupen
  12. Minister of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment (DFFE): Dion George
    • Deputies: Narend Singh and Bernice Swarts
  13. Minister of Health: Aaron Motsoaledi
    • Deputy: Joe Phaahla
  14. Minister of Higher Education: Nobuhle Nkabane
    • Deputies: Buti Manamela and Mimmy Gondwe
  15. Minister of Home Affairs: Leon Schreiber
    • Deputy: Njabulo Nzuza
  16. Minister of Human Settlements: Mmamoloko Kubayi
    • Deputy: Tandi Mahambehlala
  17. Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Ronald Lamola
    • Deputies: Alvin Botes and Tandi Moraka
  18. Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development: Thembi Nkadimeng
    • Deputy: Andries Nel
  19. Minister of Mineral and Petroleum Resources: Gwede Mantashe
    • Deputy: Judith Nemadzinga‐Tshabalala
  20. Minister of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation: Maropene Ramokgopa
    • Deputy: Seiso Mohai
  21. Minister of Police: Senzo Mchunu
    • Deputies: Polly Boshielo and Cassel Mathale
  22. Minister in the Presidency: Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
    • Deputies: Nonceba Mhlauli and Kenneth Morolong
  23. Minister of Public Service and Administration: Mzamo Buthelezi
    • Deputy: Pinky Kekana
  24. Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure: Dean Macpherson
    • Deputy: Sihle Zikalala
  25. Minister of Small Business Development: Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
    • Deputy: Jane Sithole
  26. Minister of Social Development: Sisisi Tolashe
    • Deputy: Ganief Hendricks
  27. Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture: Gayton McKenzie
    • Deputy: Peace Mabe
  28. Minister of Tourism: Patricia De Lille
    • Deputy: Maggie Sotyu
  29. Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition: Parks Tau
    • Deputies: Zuko Godlimpi and Andrew Whitfield
  30. Minister of Transport: Barbara Creecy
    • Deputy: Mkhuleko Hlengwa
  31. Minister of Water and Sanitation: Pemmy Majodina
    • Deputies: David Mahlobo and Isaac Seitlholo
  32. Minister of Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities: Sindisiwe Chikunga
    • Deputy: Mmapaseka Steve Letsike
  33. Minister of Correctional Services: Pieter Groenewald
    • Deputy: Lindiwe Ntshalintshali

Continue Reading